Patient In Cardiac Arrest

EasyWriter

I am attempting to restore my college-era KLH17 speakers, largely relying on advice and wisdom from this web site. This project is pushing the boundaries of my knowledge, which is good but challenging.

I'm sure it's my fault and not yours, but it's not going well. I replaced the three capacitors on the first speaker, and my tweeter is silent. The woofer works.

The capacitors are from Dayton Audio and specs are visible in attached images. I left the leads at full length and used a metal clip for a heat sink between the capacitor and solder point. I think my solder joints were good. I covered the bare leads with heat-shrink tubing. I didn't remove the existing resistors, so their configuration is unchanged.

I've drawn an amateurish diagram of my resulting wiring. 

I have a multimeter, but I'm new to it, too, and not sure what I should be testing.

Thank you very much for your help. I'd come mow your lawn, if I could, to show my thanks.

SpeakerWiring.jpg

IMG_9036.jpg

IMG_9041.jpg

Hmmm... I don't see anything wrong but maybe someone else will. Schematic attached below. Are you sure the tweeter works? btw, I'm reading Springsteen's autobiography now and cracked up at the Monkey Man reference.

17_SCHEMATIC copy.jpg

@Jkent,

Thank you so much. You're the patron saint of my project.

I'd wondered whether the tweeter might be bad, but I don't know how to test beyond the circumstantial evidence.

Is it possible that the 8.2uf capacitor is bad? I have voltage going into it but not coming out. The voltage jumps with the music, it seems, so I can't give you a specific reading, but it's generally about 0.5mV, it seems to me. Except it's 0 on the speaker side of the capacitor.

I'm glad you enjoyed the Monkey Man reference. That song starts running through my head whenever I work on this project.

You can hook up the tweeter directly to the signal source at very low volume and you should hear the music but very tinny.