Preparing for Model 20 restoration - advice appreciated!

JayRd7

Hello all,

I have KLH Model Twenty speakers that I am looking to do a restoration on, but wanted to make sure of a few things before I begin as I've never done anything like this before. 

-When I first purchased the speakers about 15 years ago, they actually came re-capped which was nice, but I'm wondering if anyone recommends upgrading the capacitors even more. Off the top of my head I can't remember what was used for the recap but I think they were pretty cheap caps - I've heard good things about Dayton caps for these speakers and just wondering if it would be worth it. 

-I definitely plan on resealing the surrounds, using the famous RoyC/vintageAR stuff that I've heard so much about and found on eBay. Should I also do the dust caps on these? My biggest question is, how many coats? I've heard not to layer on too thick, just wondering if anyone who's done a restore on these 20s or the similar 17s did one or two coats. 

-I've seen some mention about replacing the foam where the tweeter sits, any specific recommendation on type of foam for this and the procedure for doing so?

-I had the turntable serviced at a local audio repair shop by a guy who used to be an engineer for KLH decades ago. He took a look at my speakers and said that they're in decent shape but need the basics done to them, however, he also said that the cabinet boxes themselves need to be re-glued as they are a bit loose. I haven't found a whole lot on that online, especially for this particular speaker, so wondering if anyone has done this and what it involves, as I wouldn't know where to begin. 

Is there anything else I'm missing that I should consider doing on this restoration? Any help and advice is greatly appreciated!! Thanks everyone! -Jared  

Welcome Jared!

So you have the whole Model Twenty--not just the speakers. Nice.