AR11B mid-range driver failure

pilot

Hi Everyone,

I am new to The Classic Speaker Pages. Great web site! Really interesting and a huge resource of so much great information!   

I have a question regarding my AR11Bs.  I just finished recapping (replaced the 8 uF caps) and rebuilding the crossovers on a pair of KLH Model 6s, circa 1959-1960? (S/Ns 14xx and 24xx range) I found on Craig's List. The speakers sound wonderful. I decided to connect them to my Pioneer VSX DS1 A/V receiver (130 W/channel RMS) along with the pair of AR11Bs. After about 15 mins. of listening, 10 o'clock on the volume control, one of the ARs developed a problem. The volume of the right channel dropped off and I suddenly heard lots of distortion. I determined the distortion was coming from the mid-range driver. Disassembled the AR11B (removed all drivers) and tested the tweeter and  mid-range (woofer is OK). The tweeter DC resistance measurement is 4.2 ohms (OK) and the mid-range is testing at 18.7 ohms. Obviously a problem. Quick test on both drivers with a low level signal from the DS1 indicates the mid-range is very distorted and turns on and off. 
I am looking for an AR OEM replacement mid-range driver, P/N 200010-1.  If anyone has one for sale I would be interested in buying it. Vintage-AR, as everyone here already knows, repairs mid-range drivers for ARs but they suggest the possibility of failures in the future unrelated to the repair, which concerns me.  Thanks to everyone in advance for your help and any suggestions.

1 hour ago, pilot said:

RMS) along with the pair of AR11Bs

The description implies you were using all four speakers simultaneously which could be what led to failure. Your Receiver is rated for a 4 to 16 ohm load but you must use the impedance selector to limit the output at 4ohms.  If you run both pair simultaneously your nominal impedance is below 4 ohms which could have caused the amp to distort and damage the mid driver.