AR-2ax Tweeters non-functional

Guest dib

First post here - apologies if I missed this information somewhere...

I have a pair of AR-2ax speakers that seem to have non-functional tweeters.

The midrange and woofers work properly on both speakers.

Steps taken so far:

I've taken one speaker apart to check the crossovers / pots - No apparent corrosion.

Cleaned both pots with DeOxit Gold. Midrange pots seem to work perfectly on both speakers.

Reassembled pot - reassembled speaker.

Damaged one speaker wire on tweeter (accidentally pulled very thin copper wire from tweeter - ARRGH! Both speakers have dangling wires at present - loosely connected to posts.)

Questions:

How can I test the tweeters to see if they function at all?

How can I repair the wire I've pulled from the tweeter?

Obviously, I am not a novice with Acoustic Research speakers - Please be kind with replies. :rolleyes:

Any input is appreciated.

First post here - apologies if I missed this information somewhere...

I have a pair of AR-2ax speakers that seem to have non-functional tweeters.

The midrange and woofers work properly on both speakers.

Steps taken so far:

I've taken one speaker apart to check the crossovers / pots - No apparent corrosion.

Cleaned both pots with DeOxit Gold. Midrange pots seem to work perfectly on both speakers.

Reassembled pot - reassembled speaker.

Damaged one speaker wire on tweeter (accidentally pulled very thin copper wire from tweeter - ARRGH! Both speakers have dangling wires at present - loosely connected to posts.)

Questions:

How can I test the tweeters to see if they function at all?

How can I repair the wire I've pulled from the tweeter?

Obviously, I am not a novice with Acoustic Research speakers - Please be kind with replies. :rolleyes:

Any input is appreciated.

Hi, and welcome to the forum!