Low Serial Number AR 3's on eBay

Guest Islands Innovation

Guest Islands Innovation

AR Fans,

My appologies if this is an inappropriate post, but there appear to be a pair of historically significant AR 3's on eBay that I figured the group might be interested in.

I have no knowledge of, connection to, or interest in the seller or the speakers...just stumbled on them looking for some drivers.

The serial numbers are C 0005 and C 0020.

Check it out:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Acoustic-Research-AR-3...1QQcmdZViewItem

Item number: 330062208960

>No need to appologize, this is what AR historians live for.

>Guess these would date to mid 1958. Tom T. might have further

>details on confirming they are indeed numbers 0005 &

>0020.

Those AR-3s definitely look authentic in every aspect. They would have been produced somewhere in the January-February 1959 time-frame, I believe, and they are historicall significant due to the very early serial numbers. The finish is Lacquered Walnut or Lacquered Mahogany, and these speakers sold for $216 each when new. Oiled Walnut versions, introduced somewhat later, sold for $225 each. The suggested retail price of the AR-3 had a low mark-up, much as the AR-2 had been priced, and the company barely made money on the speaker in the beginning. The AR-3 was a clear "stand out" in the high-fidelity speaker market with nothing remotely comparable to it when it was first introduced. There was much discussion about raising the retail price to $316 each -- a cost the company felt would be well accepted -- but Villchur wanted to keep to the same pricing standards as with other AR models. As production costs declined over time, and the learning curve kicked in, the company would begin to make normal profits on each unit. The price remained at the low $216/each (still a lot of money in 1959).