AR-1 curbside

MaineJim

Hello all from a total newbie here. Great forum and have enjoyed browsing. I have a couple questions about a single speaker I scored from the free pile at our recycle center today. The speaker is labeled AR-1 and the box is in un-finished condition. The serial # is 07979. The speaker appears to be in fairly good condition except the grill is a bit stained. There are quite a few connection options on the back which is my first question. How to connect to a basic Yamaha SS amp. My worry is there may be a way to burn the thing out by accident. Another question is any idea of the age of it. And finally are there any comparable modern speakers out there that could be matched with it? Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Jim

If it's an AR-1 with the 8" mid/tweeter, this one speaker on ebay will get you at least one and possibly 2 pair of AR-3 or AR-3a speakers. This handles a couple of your questions: the 3 is the same (or equivalent) woofer as the 1 with better mid and high end response. It's also the same cabinet. And, of course, it gets you a matching pair (or pairs).

If it's the woofer-only unit (AR-1W), the AR-3 or AR-3a will be the match. You'll need something to reproduce the mids and highs for the 1W, but otherwise, you'll have your pair. The other option is finding another AR-1 or 1W.

As far as power, you really need a stout amp capable of an honest 4 ohms (and lower). Most people are saying around a 100 watts FTC-rated is the starting point. Yes, it's possible to burn things out by accident. Match the impedance of the amp to the speaker.

Unbelievable the "finds" people come up with! Another member recently stole--um, I mean "bought"--a pair of AR-1s and a JansZen electrostatic for $22: http://www.classicsp...?showtopic=7252

Check this page in our Library and at the bottom is the AR Model History: http://www.classicsp...ustic_research/ Also follow the link on that page for the Original Models Pictures and you'll see Tom Tyson's AR-1.